Wine Bar / Street Food / Event Venue

Reviews

We decided to dine at this restaurant based on the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. This indian didn't match the reviews (4.5 score), it exceeded the reviews, I would rate this way above the highest mark of 5! It is a hidden gem and with food this good I doubt it's going to stay hidden for much longer. The restaurant is small, yet spacious and it has a lovely atmosphere. The service is fantastic and very personable. I can't describe how good the food is, all I can say is if you pick another Indian in Leeds you are crazy to be missing out on this! The rose water icecream with no air in is to die for (it does have a proper name but I've forgotten). Overall the restaurant isn't like any other Indian restaurant, it is more like an experience. I can't wait to go back!

(Tripadvisor, 2013-11-29)

Whilst we were at the Ryedale Show in August 2013 we attended a cookery demonstration given by the chef of the 1875 Restaurant. We were really impressed at the use of fresh spices, no colouring and the demonstration as a whole. We tasted the food and the flavours were excellent. The restaurant is 60 miles from our home, but we vowed to go on a special occasion and see if it lived up to expectations.
This week we finally visited for a birthday celebration. We were extremely impressed and the whole experience exceeded all expectations. The owner, Menjinder, greeted us and looked after us all evening. His manner and knowledge were excellent, without being overbearing. The quality of the food was simply marvellous.
We love indian food and can say that this was the best we have tasted.
It's a long way, but we will be returning!

(Tripadvisor, 2013-11-29)

Had heard about this restaurant that it was very authentic. My husband and I ate there for the first time recently and we will definitely be returning. My Monkfish starter was great and I also tasted my husbands starter which was the sweetest liver I have had in a restaurant, The aroma as our food was placed in front of me was so inviting and the service was marvelous

(Tripadvisor, 2013-11-09)

My husband and I eat here regularly, it is by far the best Indian restaurant I have been to. The food is delicious and you couldn't ask for better service.

(Tripadvisor, 2013-10-19)

Rather the best Sub continent meal in my experience in the country. Very helpful in choosing, great presentation, and the little touches of service that make you want to return soon. Whole experience of authenticity.
Food was to the mark in flavour, and aroma. I could have eaten my meal down to my elbows!
Don't miss this I cannot say enough good things to touch the high standards.

(Tripadvisor, 2013-10-10)

Made another special day into a great day. We ordered a chilli paneer tikka and main course as thaji masala shabzi with Garlic Naan. Both were fine and really tempting. Owner is attentive and really look after us very well.

(Tripadvisor, 2013-09-19)

Attentive, thoughtful service but most importantly amazing food! Fresh, light and incredibly flavoursome, we cannot recommend 1875 highy enoug. Each dish is cooked fresh to your own requirement so any allergies, dietary requirements etc are happily dealt with and perfectly so. We are both vegetarian and every dish we had was beautifully served and incredibly tasty, just as good, if not better, than actual veggie restaurants. Try this place, you will not be disappointed!

(Tripadvisor, 2013-08-21)

1875 is no ordinary Indian restaurant. Gone are the 10 page menus with every type of imaginable Indian food. Gone is that heavy, bloated feeling which takes hold an hour or so after that curry you craved for. Instead you have a carefully put together offer of Indian food, with light starters and properly (and individually) prepared mains. Curries are flavoured and spiced according to your taste and every mouthful is to be savoured. And the breads are just different - the Nan with olive oil a really pleasant surprise. Service is attentive and you feel like a valued customer. My only "complaint" is the lack of desert choice. I would normally find it impossible even to think about a desert after an Indian meal - just too full. But here I was ready for one but not necessarily frozen Indian ice cream. Apart from that a great experience.

(Tripadvisor, 2013-08-09)

Very impressed with our meal at 1875 - only wished we had heard about this place sooner!
Very friendly welcome from the host, his recommendations of what dishes to choose were fantastic. The food was delicious. It was perfect for our taste as we were asked how much chilli we would like in our main dish on a scale of 1-10. This made all the difference compared to other Indian restaurants of this standard in the area.
We will definitely be back soon but with enough time to stay for dessert this time!
100% recommended

(Tripadvisor, 2013-07-28)

Like many regulars on the morning commute to Leeds I'd seen the signs for 1875 and always meant to get there one day. Last night I finally managed it and it won't be long before I'm back again. The food - locally sourced and delicately spiced - was outstanding and the menu unusual. There was monkfish and pork on the menu - both exquisitely tasty - as well as more familiar dishes with a twist like the tender chicken tikka starter with black pepper. The early evening menu - priced at 9.95 and available till 18.45 - is particularly good value. If you're looking for real Indian food where the spices enhance the flavour rather than drowning it this is definitely not to be missed

(Tripadvisor, 2013-06-15)

Every visit to The 1875 is a true delight. From walking through the door, the friendly and attentive staff are on hand to describe any dish on the menu and offer a truly personal service. Each diner feels as though they are at the centre of the excellent host's attention, creating a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere.

The variety of dishes on the menu is outstanding: I have tried many of these dishes, and am happy to report that every one is superb, with delicate flavours and spices working together with locally sourced produce to create exquisite dishes. I particularly recommend the Machli Tukra and Goan Pork Vindaloo, with the chef offering levels of spice to suit every taste.

I cannot recommend the restaurant enough and would urge anyone in the area to beat a path to Menston to visit The 1875.

(Tripadvisor, 2013-07-22)

An eaterie where friendliness levels are only outshone by the passion for the dishes they are creating" and “For my starter I had picked the machi tukra (monkfish pieces in a spice marinade). It arrived looking a picture....But it tasted even better than it looked... I could quite happily have eaten another plateful

(Silvia, 2013-06-12)

One of the Best Indian Restaurant have ever visited

(Luca, 2013-06-12)

A Hidden Gem

(Arianna, 2013-06-12)

What an experience, OMG!

(Marco, 2013-06-12)

Traditional Indian Cuisine created with passion and flavour

(Gigi, 2013-06-12)

Not far off a Michelin star

(Lucia, 2013-06-12)